Academy News


January 2005


Election of Officers

The Election of Officers was conducted earlier.  The Academy received one nomination for each of the 6 posts.  The candidates are therefore elected ipso facto. 

President  Grace TANG
Vice-President (General Affairs)  Raymond LIANG
Vice-President (Education & Examinations)  Chi-tim HUNG
Honorary Secretary  Kin-wah CHU
Honorary Treasurer    Stephen FOO
Editor Richard KAY

The term of office of these 6 Officers will end on the day of the AGM in 2006.

During the conferment ceremony on 17 December 2004, Dr. C.H. Leong handed over the Presidential badge to Prof. Grace Tang following his 4 years of service as Academy President.   Dr. Leong has served the Academy since its inception and will continue to be a member of the Academy Council for another year as Immediate Past President.    Prof. Joseph Sung, Dr. Pamela Leung, and Dr. Y.L. Yu have stepped down from the Academy Council.  The Academy would like to thank them for their invaluable contributions.




Honorary Fellows & Academy Medal

The Academy has admitted two distinguished individuals in the medical and dental professions as Honorary Fellows.  They are Prof. Huang Jie-fu and Prof. William Ian Rees Davies.  Prof. Huang is Vice-minister of Ministry of health of PRC, a Professor of Hepatobiliary Surgery, Mentor of doctoral degree student, Director-General of Bureau of healthcare for Senior Officials, Chairman of Expert Panel for Senior officials,Vice-President of Chinese Medical Association, and is an Honorary Advisor of the Academy.  Prof. Davies retired from the Vice-Chancellorship and from the Chair of Periodontology and Public Health of the University of Hong Kong in 2002.  He was a member of the Dental Council of Hong Kong from 1987 to 1989 and the President of the College of Dental Surgeons of Hong Kong from 1996 to 1998.

This year, the Academy awarded an Academy Medal to Mr. Simon Ip Sik On, who has served the Academy and the Academy Foundation Fund for over 13 years as Honorary Legal Advisor.  Mr. Ip was a senior partner of Johnson Stokes and Master and has recently retired from legal practice.



2005 Annual Subscriptions

Fellows are reminded that their 2005 Annual Subscriptions are due on 1 January 2005.  Fellows should receive a demand note from either the Academy or their College.  Please be reminded that it is Councilís policy that subscriptions received by the Academy after 30 June will be subject to a surcharge of 5% on the subscription amount.  Please settle your subscription as soon as possible.



Chinese New Year

Fellows are welcome to use the banqueting services at the Academy for their New Year and Spring dinners.  Interested Fellows can contact the Conference Department on 2871 8787 for booking details

Menus for Reunion and Spring Dinners



11th Annual Conferment Ceremony

Please click the following link for the photos taken at the 11th Annual Conferment Ceremony.


Kindly note that the photos will be removed from this website on 28 Feb 2005.